9.12 – Pax

A/N: Aaaaand this is where I run out of queued posts. I still haven’t installed The Sims 3 on my new laptop because I lost the code for my Supernatural expansion pack, so I can’t register it on origin. Let’s hope I find it soon… 

Screenshot

A few days later

This is the team?” GK cast an unimpressed glance up and down the table, his pale eyes resting on me last. Sometimes I hated sitting directly across from him. It meant I had to watch him silently judge every person in the room. “One burglar, one assassin, one… me, and three trainees?”

“I’m not-” Caesar began to protest, but Morrigan quickly cut him off.

“Chase is not just some trainee. He’s the best getaway driver we have.” At the moment Chase was completely spaced out, rolling his bread back and forth on his plate.

GK rolled his eyes. “He’s childish.”

Screenshot-2

Caesar decided to jump into the argument again, insisting that he too was a ‘real burglar’ and not a trainee. As they all bickered, Jacks leaned over and whispered, “Isn’t it funny watching them fight?”

“We don’t seem like a good team,” I muttered back.

“That’s because I haven’t said anything yet.” He settled back in his seat and rapped his champagne glass. “Alright, enough. You can quarrel all you want here, but when the mission comes I expect each of you to do your part, minimal talking. That includes you, Blackwood.”

Caesar pouted, but for once didn’t say anything.

Screenshot-3

“Our mission is an assassination-robbery,” Morrigan continued. “While Chase waits in the car, I go in and kill the old wealthy CEO. The rest of you enter through a second-floor window with Jacks and take everything of value.”

“GK guards the hallway. Blackwood takes the master bedroom and bathroom, plus the office. Link and I take the other rooms.” Jacks finished the mission brief and raised his glass. The rest of us did the same, toasting to the mission.

I nearly spit out my first sip of champagne when Caesar elbowed me in the ribs and loudly whispered, “This is gonna be great! I’ll show you exactly how a proper burglary is done.”

Screenshot-4

“Good luck, newbie.” Morrigan gave me a (friendly?) pat on the head as we left the table. “The first mission is the most terrifying thing you’ll ever do, besides initiation.”

With that, she slipped down the hall and disappeared into her room. The mission would take place around 1:00AM, so we had time to rest. “Initiation?” I turned to Caesar, who looked a bit wobbly. He had drunk more than the rest of us.

“Oh, it’s a blast. You get to prove you’re actually committed to the gang.” He hiccuped and stopped in the middle of the hallway to sit down on the stairs. “Mine was to rob my former boss and then kill him. Not trying to brag, but I didn’t even have to kill him. I just felt like it.”

Somehow, I doubted that. “Is that a normal initiation? Rob someone?”

“Yeah, rob or kill someone you’re familiar with.” Caesar squinted and shielded his eyes from the overhead light. “But Jacks had the coolest initiation. He got to kill a unicorn.”

“A unicorn?

“That huge black one that used to guard the Palace.” He stretched and yawned, his jaw cracking as he did. “Man, I’m tired. See you tonight, Link.”

***

Screenshot-5

I couldn’t sleep that night knowing that Jacks was responsible for killing my favorite unicorn. I’d known he was head burglar, but not that he was a killer. And a good one at that. Unicorns were notably tough to kill. I underestimated him.

And even though he threatened me into joining the gang, I didn’t want to kill him. These people were the only ones who could understand what it was like to murder Duncan’s innocent baby. We were evil, and we would be evil together.

Around 12:30AM Jacks came in and found me already up and dressed in the standard black jacket of the burglars. Together we dragged Caesar from his room and met the other three members of our team in the entryway.

Screenshot-6

Chase expertly zoomed us through the quiet streets, zipping through abandoned backroads and creeping up behind our target’s house. Morrigan noiselessly opened the door and crept to the house, picking the lock on the front door with ease. She was in.

“Now,” Jacks hissed. GK, Caesar, and I followed him as he scaled the side of the house, nearly floating upwards with how easily he found handholds. GK was close behind him. On the other hand, Caesar and I were left to awkwardly scale our way up. Jacks already had the window open by the time we got up to the second floor.

Screenshot-7

We stepped into a nursery. Caesar left to scout out his assigned rooms without noticing the sleeping toddler in the crib. Jacks and GK had gone down the hall to raid a guest bedroom. I crept around the nursery, lifting random blanket piles and hoping I would find something more valuable than a dirty diaper. Eventually I found an envelope filled with a stash of emergency money.

“Who’s there?” A lamp by the door suddenly flicked on, casting an orange glow on the face of an elderly woman, the CEO’s wife.

Oh shit. I stumbled backward, slamming into the crib as I did. The girl inside blinked up at me and instantly started bawling.

Screenshot-8

“Fucking hell!” I heard Jacks yell from the hallway. “How did she get in there? Kill her!”

The old woman turned around with a gasp. GK appeared at her back and sunk his knife deep into her neck. Tossing her body aside, he strode over to the crib.

I moved to block his way. “You can’t-”

“Anyone who saw us has to die. Including her. That’s how we’re never caught.” He started to push me aside.

“She’s a kid,” I protested. Images of Duncan’s dead baby were swimming in my head. “She won’t remember anything.”

GK snorted. “She won’t remember the traumatic night her grandparents were killed? Look at her. She’s old enough to remember. We can’t take any chances.”

He shoved me aside (a bit harshly) and plunged his knife into the crib. The crying stopped. I sunk back against the wall, breathing hard. GK gave me a funny look. “Chill. It was just a baby. You didn’t even know her.”

Screenshot-9

He started for the door, only to find Jacks standing in the doorway. His eyes fell on the crib, then lingered on my face before turning to GK. “You’re pushing it,” he growled.

“Pushing- That’s standard procedure!” GK thrust his arm at the crib, then pocketed his knife. “You’re the one that wanted to do this.”

“I know, but it had stipulations- Forget it. We’ll discuss this back at the mansion. Find Caesar and help him get the loot in the car.” Jacks pushed past his bodyguard and grasped my arm. “Come on, Morrigan and Chase are waiting.”

***

Screenshot-10

“That was awful,” Caesar stated. I nodded my agreement. We were both awkwardly slumped on the couch, waiting as Jacks and GK argued in the office. Morrigan and Chase were counting our profits. “Normally it’s much more fun. If I’m honest, smaller groups are better. Less chance of getting caught.”

“How long will they take?” I glanced back at Jacks’ closed door.

“Who knows… Could be hours.” Caesar crossed his arms and slumped lower. “They could be fucking each other in there and we’d never know.”

What?

“Oh, you didn’t know Jacks was…? Eh, it doesn’t matter. I doubt GK would fuck anyone here. He despises us all.” Suddenly Caesar shot up in his seat. “Hey, you can teleport, right?”

“Yeah. Why?” I asked.

A devilish smile spread across his face. “So you could teleport both of us out of here? We could go do our own small robberies. I’ll show you how fun it really is.”

I was about to refuse, but then I reconsidered. It would be fun to rob – not kill – people on our own. What better way to pass the time? “Sure, why not.”

***

Screenshot-12

Third person POV

“I’m not apologizing. I did what we always do.”

“Yes, but did you think first?” Jacks leveled his gaze at his bodyguard, who was not the slightest bit fazed. “He just killed a little girl himself. He joined us because he thinks we will somehow convince him that his actions were justified, because we are killers. And then he saw you kill a little girl, which reminded him of what he did. Now he doesn’t feel comfortable here.”

GK sighed and drummed his fingers on his knees. “Link won’t leave. He has nowhere to go.”

“We don’t know that. I’ve told you before: we can’t risk losing him.”

“Don’t you think-“

“Stop talking.” Jacks rested his head on his hand. “Leave Link to me. You can work on what his initiation will be. And don’t do anything that will make him hate us even more.”

GK replied, “He doesn’t hate us. He hates me. If you want him to like us, let him do what he wants. Just make sure everything is justified and the rest will fall into place.”

***

Screenshot-14

Link’s POV

Caesar and I continued our mini-robberies for a week. It was a good way to relieve stress with the added bonus of making money. And Caesar wasn’t really as bad as he seemed. Sure, he was a bit cocky, but that made him even more fun to do robberies with. He exaggerated everything.

“Man, how many cats did that lady own? There must’ve been a thousand!” Caesar bounced up the stairs and dropped the sack of jewelry we’d stolen on my bed.

“There were only three,” I laughed. Pointing at a gold chain necklace in the bag, I said, “Will they sell?”

“Oh yeah. They’ll sell beautifully.” He held up a tiny blue gem suspended on a silver chain. “Might give this one to my mum though.”

There was a thump by the door, and when I turned to look I found Chase. He was rubbing his toe. “Stubbed it on the door frame,” he said sheepishly. “But uh, Jacks wants you in his office.”

I rolled my eyes at Caesar. “If he yells at me for these little burglaries, it’s your fault.”

Screenshot-11

Jacks’ office was simple and tidy. His desk was suspiciously bare. I thought back to Caesar’s earlier comment and I really hoped nobody had ever… done it on this desk.

He beckoned me to sit. “Let’s be honest: you didn’t enjoy your first mission.”

“Not really,” I admitted. I was pretty sure he already knew that anyway. “I still don’t know why you had to kill the girl.”

“I apologize for that. It’s just… policy. I wouldn’t have made you come on that mission if I knew the couple’s granddaughter would be staying with them. I don’t want to push you until you’re ready.”

I shifted awkwardly in my chair, trying to stop myself from asking a question I already knew his answer to. But I had to hear it. “Do you… think it’s alright to kill someone if their father murdered your family?”

Screenshot-13

“Absolutely. Blood demands blood. It’s justified.” Jacks’ gaze was intense, and I suspected he knew exactly who I was referring to. Then his stare softened. “I want you to come on another mission. No children this time. No assassinations. Is there anything you need to help you prepare?”

I thought for a second. “It’d be nice to have a book or something that tells me how to use magic in crime. I know all the spells, just… I can’t apply most of them to a burglary.”

He nodded slowly, running his fingers over the desktop. “I’ll send a message to the library. They’ve got to have something.”

33 thoughts on “9.12 – Pax

  1. I know I’m not really supposed to, but I love Ceasar!! He’s so funny! GK on the other hand is one brutal bastard! Man, he didn’t even hesitate to kill the kid, that’s cold! The line with the desk cracked me up! 😂
    I really want to see what Link’s initiation will be like but I’m scared too lol.
    Great chapter! 🙂

    1. It’s perfectly fine to love Caesar, I know I do 😉 He’s hilarious, especially because he overexaggerates everything! GK is cold and brutal… Traits of a good bodyguard, don’t you think?

      We will see Link’s initiation in a future chapter! Oh gosh, scared is the right word for that….

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. Oh no! Please stop killing babies! And innocent people… Being rich isn’t a crime if they gained their money in a legal way. I wonder if the Macvans had another motive of killing the CEO or if it was simply because of the money. This generation is the hardest one to read for me, so much death and blood and violence… but then I remember how much I love GoT and think it could be much worse, LOL 😀

    1. Oh, I forgot to add… Now we finally got to know who killed Vern. He was my favorite unicorn ❤

      I wonder how Jacks managed to do that since it was his initiation… He really must be good at his job and he definitely knows what he's doing.

      1. It would be nice if the gang could make money a legal way. Never gonna happen though XD They are a gang for a reason, they like to cheat the system. And yeah, there is a gosh-dang lot of violence in this generation… Good thing you’ve seen GOT, it’s so much worse. Imagine if my story had incest and rape O.o

        RIP Vern ❤ He was my favorite unicorn to write! Jacks killing him just proves how dangerous the Macvans are. Link better keep an eye out at all times!

        Thanks for reading and commenting!

        1. I know they are bad guys and that they will never do anything good 😦

          The legal way of getting rich was referred to the CEO’s family the Macvans robbed. What I wanted to say was that if the CEO would have stolen from someone or has gotten rich in an illegal way then I guess it was okay that the gang brought justice upon him… but if the CEO was an honest person who earned all his wealth by hard work and effort then he would be the last person I wanted to see being robbed… I hope it makes sense 😀

          1. Ahh I see, that makes perfect sense! In all honesty, the Macvan gang doesn’t care how their target makes money (whether it’s illegal means or not). As long as there is lots of money to steal, they’ll take it :/

            1. Of course they don’t care. Why should they, right? They’re bloody criminals LOL

              (I still feel sorry for the CEO’s family anyway… especially the parents of the baby girl…)

  3. Okay so I just sat down and read this entire generation in one sitting. I was looking for new things to read and stumbling across your story was perfect!
    I think I came in at the perfect time. I love stories about crime, especially charming thieves. Maybe not murderers though, especially not of kids D: Though I guess they are evil criminals so what should I expect? 😛
    I really like all the characters in the gang though. Jack makes me laugh and I think he’s pretty handsome. Is it bad to ship him and Link?
    I wonder how Ryan is related to them..
    Will Link really have to kill a member of his family to be initiated? He better not kill Ryan after all that man’s done for him >.>

    1. I’m glad you stopped by! Crime stories have always intrigued me too, so I figured I’d take a shot at writing one. I gotta say, this generation turned out much darker than I expected, but hey… It’s interesting (I hope lol). Despite the gang members being “bad people” I really like them all too :3 And they all have at least a hint of good in them… No one can be completely evil. Jacks is handsome 😀 It’s 100% okay to ship him and Link! I, uhh, actually have a post on my tumblr that kinda sorta ships them so……………

      I can’t remember when I reveal how Ryan is related to them, but you’ll find out soon! And Link might just have to kill a family member. I don’t think he could bring himself to kill Ryan at this point, but in the future who knows how much he’ll change. Keep in mind though, Link has brothers too… Everyone is an option :0

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

    1. No guarantees, Link isn’t the most careful person… Initiation does not sound good at all! It won’t happen for a fee chapters though, so maybe Link has time to back out while he still can… Or maybe not.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

    1. They try to be, though I wouldn’t say they’re all good at manipulating people XD Link really needs to think more before making decisions! But of course, at the moment his brain is a bit messed up. Let’s hope he didn’t make a big mistake…

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  4. Okay so I wouldn’t be personally getting in with these guys, they’re f-ing savage.
    I do have a small soft spot for Caesar. I can feel it growing. And Morrigan, she reminds me a bit of Morrigan from a court of mist and fury, if you’ve ever read it. They both have that hard streak in them.
    I was away for a couple of weeks so I’ve caught up with your story now too!! 🙂

    1. They are so savage! I would love to join them if they existed in real life, it’d be fun (and evil…). I love every single gang member for different reasons lol, Caesar is definitely a funny guy! And Morrigan is so badass, I’ve never read that but the similarities are cool 🙂

      I’m falling behind on the stories I read, so if I miss a chapter of yours I’m sorry XD

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  5. Oh my god Caesar… *hides face*… haha I cracked up at him! You write him so well! Plus I swear he looks better in your game than mine… and he’s so dumb but I love the way you portray him! 🙂
    Welp, that robbery was scary! It must have been quite traumatising to see the baby girl to get killed like that, I think that wasn’t the best move on GK’s part. I’m worried about the initiation too, it doesn’t sound good at all. These guys are brutal. But I still like them lmao.
    I really enjoyed this chapter ❤

    1. Haha Caesar is so awesome! I really enjoy writing him, he’s such a funny character. He might be a bit dumb, but he loves talking/bragging and he actually isn’t a super horrible person (as you’ll eventually find out).

      The robbery! It was pretty traumatizing for Link, especially after he just killed a little girl himself. GK killing this baby brought back many bad memories… And reminded Link why he joined the gang in the first place. Then again, it also reminded him that these people may not be sensitive enough for him to be around at the moment, since some of them just aren’t empathetic. Initiation will be interesting…..

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

    1. That’s true. Link is in a delicate state right now, making him prone to suggestion. The gang can easily manipulate him into committing, and then hold him to that agreement if he decides he wants to back out. Not a good situation at all. Initiation may not go as planned…

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  6. If you still have the machine with all your old games installed (I can’t remember what happened to it 😦 ) then you can find your product code from there! That’s how I installed most of mine 🙂

    I’m also a little (okay very) worried about which family member link may have to kill for initiation…

    1. Oh ok, I’ll have to look for that! I left my old laptop at home and I’m at college now, so I don’t have access to it. I honestly don’t know if I’ll have any time to play the sims at all… It’s not looking very likely.

      And yeah… Be worried. It may or may not be who you think it will be. Although you have to wonder if Link would actually go through with killing a family member >.>

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  7. “They could be fucking each other in there and we’d never know.”

    If I’d had a drink I would spilled it all over my brand new laptop lmao
    oh my god ceasar
    GK’s kinda right tho. If there was any way to make Link see his actions were justified, is themselves kill some kids in front of him like it’s nothing. I mean…if everyone does it….

    1. Hahaha glad you appreciated that line XD Good thing you didn’t have a drink though, I’d hate to cause you to ruin your laptop… Especially because it means that I wouldn’t get to see the end of your story and I need Niko in my life!

      GK has a point, although I’m not sure if his method was the best for making Link see that he made the right decision. It might have just traumatized him more…

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      1. *flails* Niko needs to be in people’s lives yes yes he does (*whispers* it’s okay I have a spare laptop. it’s old laggy but its held whitelights before)
        Yeah that was a LITTLE harsh GK, I mean make it gradual man. Kick Link out and then kill the baby. Make sure he knows without actually seeing it kind of thing…

What did you think?